Chive Flower Vinegar

DSCF6816

 

 

I chose to use this wonderful vinegar from The Philippines, made from sugar cane. It’s very mild almost like Champagne vinegar but still 5% so enough acid to make pickles, etc. But you can use any vinegar.

DSCF5448I picked about as many Chive flowers as I could find…about a dozen or so for about 1/2 litre of vinegar…..

For this one I added 1 clove of garlic and some chive stems as well as the flowers.

 

DSCF6891 DSCF6893

I let the mixture sit for about 10 days to 1 week.

Here comes my “trick”…..after I strain out the pieces I add a bit of Bentonite that I get from the wine making section of my grocery store. Dissolve it, mix into the vinegar and allow it to sit until clear – about 1 week or so.  Then I gently siphon off the clear liquid and bottle…CLEAR AS GLASS!!  I also use this trick for jelly-making.

DSCF6914

Best tasting salad vinegar ever!!

DSCF6896

Leave a Reply

Cooking in Mexico

Cooking, eating, recipes and food happenings in Mexico

Every Nook & Cranny

...is simply filled with food

Cooking Up The Pantry

Feeding a hungry family!

Cooking, Crafting and Chaos

.... this is my journey

In the kitchen

Gotowanie i naiwne filozofowanie

Katherine Blake

A great WordPress.com site

TTP

Travel Tips and Pictures

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

scott mercer

Scott's favourite recipes

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

